4 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

DSC_0159

Good Monday morning!  How was your weekend?  Mine was spent shopping — outlet malling and Trader Joe’s-ing, among other locations — and enjoying the wonderful weather May has brought to the Northeast.  I left Florida late last week to visit New York for a week, and I’m nearly positive I must’ve packed Florida’s sunshine in my suitcase — it’s been in the 70’s and completely sunny everyday so far, which isn’t very normal in Central New York any time of year!

Anyway, despite the weather and my shopping adventures, I’ve found some time to bake quite a bit in the past few days as well.  On Friday, I was playing around with some random ingredients and ended up with these amazing chocolate peanut butter cookies

DSC_0167

As if chocolate peanut butter cookies don’t already sound appealing enough by name alone, these cookies involve only four ingredients!  Yay, for simplicity.  That’s right — all that stands between you and these cookies is peanut butter, unsweetened cocoa powder, sugar, and an egg.  And I suppose a mixing bowl and an oven, but you know.

Not surprisingly, the minimal amount of ingredients in these cookies mean the dough comes together in an instant.  I mixed all four ingredients at once in one bowl, and then swirled in extra peanut butter at the very end because, well, I don’t think you can ever have too much peanut butter in a cookie. 😉

The cookies bake up with soft, deep chocolatey centers and crisp edges, with extra bursts of peanut butter from the swirl.  I found the cookies to be a bit more ‘crumbly’ than normal straight out of the oven, so I allowed them to sit on the cookie sheets to cool a bit longer (10-15 minutes) than usual before removing.

If you’re looking for a quick, simple (gluten free!) and delicious cookie recipe, this recipe is definitely worth a try!

DSC_0162

[print_this]4 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut butter cookies with deep chocolate flavor, with only four ingredients.  If you’d like to add a fifth ingredient, try dark chocolate chips or peanut butter chips!

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 12 to 15 minutes

  •  1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Reserve 1/4 cup peanut butter.  In a large mixing bowl, mix the remaining peanut butter with the cocoa, egg, and sugar, until well blended.  Fold in the reserved 1/4 cup peanut butter to create a peanut butter swirl in the dough.

Form the cookie dough into 1.5 inch balls; set onto the prepared cookie sheets about 2 inches apart, then flatten each ball slightly with your hand (or a fork or spoon).   Bake the cookies 12 to 15 minutes (you will not be able to see golden edges because of the dark cookie color).  Allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan (the cookies are a bit crumbly, thus requiring longer time on the cookie sheets to cool).  Store the cookies in an airtight container (you can also freeze extra cookies).

This is an original recipe from www.littlebittybakes.com.

[/print_this]

20 thoughts on “4 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies”

    1. Flourless recipes are some of my favorites. Although, I’ve still never tried a flourless chocolate cake – guess that gives me something to work on!

    1. Easy cookie recipes are my favorite for when I have the urge to bake, yet don’t exactly have all the time in the world, you know? One or two bowls, a few stirs, and that’s it!

  1. Liz, I came to your blog looking for a recipe to use up some of my browned bananas…since yours is one of my go-to sites:) And then I saw this recipe- LOVE how easy it is, and how I have everything in my pantry!! Perfect.
    Enjoy your time in NY, it sounds lovely up there.

    1. You should try these, Holly! I made them for my sister because she loves peanut butter (and because she eats gluten free). Oh and if you’re looking for something to do with browned bananas, I’ll have a new recipe up tomorrow that you need to try!

    1. I love the 3 ingredient cookies too, and don’t know why it took me so long to think to add the cocoa powder!

  2. I just mixed up the dough and I’m waiting for the oven to warm up now! I have a friend who is both gluten-intolerant and can’t eat peanuts…I plan to try them with almond butter tomorrow!

      1. Liz- I made these with almond butter tonight…wow! Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

