Strawberry Banana Scones (Gluten Free options)

DSC_0258

If you’re anything like me and ever find yourself with a few overripe bananas on the counter, two words probably come to mind: banana bread.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love banana bread (this is one of my favorites), but sometimes it’s just sort of… typical.  There must be something better to do with overripe bananas, you know? 

And that is where these scones come in.  My sister had just been talking about scones the other day, so when I spotted a couple browned bananas on the counter, I knew what to do…

DSC_0263

I made strawberry banana scones.

Between the mashed banana and greek yogurt (vanilla CHO), these scones are nice and moist.  I’d rather not have much to do with that dry scone business. 

I don’t make scones very often, but every time I do, I’m reminded how simple they really are to make.  The dough for this recipe comes together so easily — the most strenuous part is cutting in cold butter, but if you’ve ever made any sort of pastry, you probably know the drill.

DSC_0265

I made this particular scone using gluten free flours, but you could also prepare these scones with regular all-purpose flour (I’ve included instructions for both in the recipe). 

One thing I’ve learned about making scones — as is the case with lots of biscuit and muffin recipes — is to mix the dough only until it is just combined.  You don’t want to over-mix the dough or else you’ll end up with hockey puck scones.  Who wants a hockey puck scone when you can have a soft, fluffy scone with crisp edges?  Not me!

As I was grabbing the butter to cut into the scone dough, I noticed a few lone strawberries in the fridge, and decided to toss them into the dough.  Mmm, such a good decision!  With berry season upon us, I foresee several berry-filled scones and breakfast treats being enjoyed. 🙂

If you’d like, you could drizzle a simple glaze over the baked scones (powdered sugar + milk), however I opted to leave the glaze for another day.  I liked the rustic, simple finish of the scones on their own!

DSC_0268

[print_this]Strawberry Banana Scones (Gluten free options)

Soft, fluffy banana scones made with greek yogurt.  Strawberries add extra sweeteness and flavor, although you could substitute any berry or dried fruit.

Makes 8 scones

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 2 large overripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons milk (any kind; I used unsweetened vanilla almondmilk)
  • 3/4 cup nonfat vanilla greek yogurt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour*
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (cold), cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped strawberries

In a small mixing bowl, stir the mashed banana, milk, and yogurt until mixed well.

In a large mixing  bowl, stir the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter with a fork, until the mixture is crumbly.  Stir in the wet ingredients, mixing until just blended (do not overmix!).  Gently fold in the strawberries.

Turn the dough onto a surface lined with parchment paper.  Form the dough into a disk, about 1 inch thick.  Cover with an additional sheet of parchment paper; place the disk on a cookie sheet.  Chill in the freezer 10 to 20 minutes.

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Remove the dough from the freezer, removing the top sheet of parchment paper.  Slice the dough into 8 equal slices, pulling the scones apart slightly.  Bake 30 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.  As the scones bake, remove from the oven every 10 minutes to re-slice the scones (as they bake, you will be able to separate them easier).  Allow the scones to cool slightly before serving.

*To prepare the scones gluten free, replace the 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour with: 1 1/2 cups rice flour, 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/4 cup tapioca flour, and 1 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum.

This recipe, adapted from Cinnamon Spice & Everything Nice, appeared first on www.littlebittybakes.com.

[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Scones (Gluten Free options)”

  1. I STILL have never made a scone. (well, besides when I was running the bakery…)

    never made my own, at home. I have the one recipe sitting in my drafts folder… waiting to be tested and rewritten…

    I have also been eating SO MUCH YOGURT lately – in the form of the dairy free coconut based kind – GREEK. oh yum. I wonder if the consistency is similar enough to use in this recipe? I may try…

    we always have that one banana too brown to eat (especially since I like them GREEN), and yes, I love banana bread but I am always trying to find new things to do with them. I may just make a scone yet…

    XXO!

    1. You’ve never made scones?! They seem like something you’d love! You should definitely try making them, and yes, I’d bet using the dairy free coconut based yogurt would work. Also, I’d like to try that yogurt. 🙂

    1. You’ve never made scones? Ah, put that on your to-do list, Sally! You’re a baking machine, I have faith in you!

    1. I agree, a hot cup of coffee and a scone is quite the breakfast. I actually did that for breakfast the other day with one these – heated one up and spread peanut butter on top!

Leave a Reply

