Happy Chocolate Chip Day!

Did you know May 15th is National Chocolate Chip Day?  Sometimes I think we have a few too many “food days” but if there is a day I’m okay with keeping, it’s a day to celebrate the chocolate chip (side note: I think we still need a greek yogurt day, I should work on that).

I’m sure I’m not the only one who remembers one of the first things they ever baked was a chocolate chip cookie (the recipe on the back of the Toll House package, obviously).  Over the years, I like to think my skills in the kitchen have improved, and my tastes have certainly evolved, but you still just can’t beat the nostalgia of a chocolate chip.  Know what I mean?

I actually *do* have a new chocolate chip cookie recipe in the works, but I’m saving that for another day (soon!).  But today, to honor the day of the chocolate chip, I thought I’d sort through all of my recipes and put together a round-up of some of my favorites involving chocolate chips.  Enjoy!

Levain Bakery Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.  Want to know a trick to “doughy” cookies?  Make ’em really big.  And add cornstarch — it thickens up the dough, which means it doesn’t spread as much.  Less spread = thick, soft, doughy cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies.  Similar recipe as my Levain Bakery copycat cookie recipe, but with three types of chocolate: dark, semisweet, and milk.  3x the chocolate!

Chocolate Chip Cake Cookies.  As if chocolate chip cookies aren’t enough on their own, this recipe involves Greek yogurt, which makes for a fluffy, cake-like chocolate chip cookie.  Highly recommended, especially with some ice cream sandwiched between two!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Granola.  What makes a cup of yogurt better?  Crunchy, sweet granola that tastes just like a chocolate chip cookie, obviously. 😉

Monster Cookies.  Okay, there’s a lot more than chocolate chips involved in these gems, but that’s not such a bad thing, right?  Next time I make them, I think I’ll try to use as many different types of chocolate chips as I can — making them even more “monster”-like.

Monster Cookies

Oatmeal Sunflower Seed Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars.  Soft, chewy oatmeal cookie bars, with sweet chocolate chips and salty sunflower seeds mixed into the batter.  The stir-in options for these bars are endless.

Mint Chocolate Chip Funfetti Cookies.  I know mint is most popular around the holidays, but if you’re anything like me, you’re able to enjoy the mint + chocolate combo any time of year.  Especially when cake mix is involved!

“Mega” sized Chocolate Chip Cookies with Sea Salt.  I’m convinced a sprinkle of sea salt makes anything taste better, all desserts included.  I think I need to combine this recipe with my Levain Bakery copycat recipe. 🙂

What’s your favorite way to enjoy chocolate chips?  I’m not going to lie, for me these days, I love stirring dark chocolate chips  into greek yogurt.  This should be no surprise to many of you. 😉  But chocolate chip cookies are a close, close second!

8 thoughts on “Happy Chocolate Chip Day!”

    1. Thanks Laura! You should really try making the Levain copycat recipe. And I agree, I would much rather chip away at a huge cookie than eat several small cookies – mostly for the “doughy” factor.

Leave a Reply

