Lemon Feta Potato Salad

Lemon Feta Potato Salad LBBakes

Who is excited for Memorial Day weekend?!  I’ve always loved Memorial Day weekend since it marks the unofficial start of summer, and even more so because Memorial Day usually falls fairly close to my birthday (May 29th).  I’m sure my blogger-birthday buddy Sally agrees. 😉

Anyway, to get you in 3-day weekend, summer grilling mode, I thought I’d interrupt my regularly scheduled sweet recipe posts and instead share something a little savory today.

I don’t know about you, but for me, one of the most fun parts of summer BBQ’s are the side dishes.  Bring on the salads — fruit, veggie, pasta, potato — you name it, I’m probably a fan.

Lemon Feta Potato Salad Little Bitty Bakes

Do me a favor — the next time you grab a bunch of potatoes to make a potato salad, try this lemon feta potato salad.  Rather than mayonnaise, this salad is dressed with extra virgin olive oil and lemon juice.  It’s so much lighter than traditional potato salads.  Lighter potato salad = more room for other food. 😉

Feta cheese and lemon zest are the stars of this salad, adding tangy and tart flavors to the otherwise simple salad.  I added rosemary to the salad as well, which I loved, but you could also add other herbs.  I think dill would be a great option!

Rather than served cold like a traditional potato salad, this salad is served warm or at room temperature.  Since there is cheese involved, you won’t want to let it sit out in the sun all day, but it generally can last quite awhile on the table.

Lemon Feta Potato Salad

 

Have a happy Memorial Day weekend!

[print_this]Lemon Feta Potato Salad

Warm potato salad dressed with extra virgin olive oil and lemon juice.  Feta cheese, lemon zest, and rosemary add bold flavors to the salad. 

Serves 8

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

  • 2 pounds potatoes (any kind), sliced*
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons herbs (I recommend rosemary or dill)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Place the potatoes in a large pot of water.  Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and continue cooking 10 to 15 minutes, or until the potatoes are just barely tender.

Drain the potatoes in a colander, then pour into a large bowl.  Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl; toss to mix.  Serve the salad warm or at room temperature.  Store any leftover salad in the refrigerator.

*I recommend slicing regular potoates into quarters to cook quicker.[/print_this]

9 thoughts on “Lemon Feta Potato Salad”

    1. Thanks Laura! And I know what you mean about the mayonnaise. I used to love it as a kid, but not so much anymore.

Leave a Reply

