Birthday Cake Granola

Birthday Cake Granola lbbakes

What, you don’t make special batches of granola to celebrate a birthday?

…Well, if you don’t, I highly suggest you do so with the next soonest birthday you celebrate.

This recipe is a long time (~3 weeks) overdue.  I whipped up this batch of granola a few weeks ago in anticipation of my birthday, but forgot to share the recipe here!

Birthday Cake Granola

I’m a bit of a granolaholic, if you haven’t noticed: coconut almond granola, pb&j granola, nutella granola… just to name a few.  So when I thought about what foods would make me most happy around my birthday, granola definitely topped the list.  But is a granola that tastes like birthday cake, without any funky ingredients, even possible?

Birthday cake granola_lbbakes

…looks like it is — and tastes so, too!

I kept things super simple, relying on coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract to reach a flavor reminiscent of vanilla cake.  If you don’t believe me, try it!

…oh, and sprinkles were obviously necessary.  They always are! 😉

birthday cake granola _lbbakes

[print_this]Birthday Cake Granola

Vanilla birthday cake… in simple, healthy granola form.  

Makes about 3 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax seed (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons rainbow sprinkles

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F.  Line a baking pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

Mix the oats and ground flax seed in a mixing bowl.

Stir the coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract in a separate bowl (if your coconut oil is solid, microwave it in 15 second increments until liquid, then stir with the honey and vanilla).  Pour over the oats; stir until mixed well.

Spread into the baking pan.  Bake about 40 minutes, stirring every 10 to 15 minutes, until granola is golden brown.  Immediately scatter the sprinkles over the granola.  Allow the granola to cool before storing.

This is an original recipe from http://www.littlebittybakes.com.[/print_this]

13 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Granola”

    1. Haha, I know. I forgot about sharing the recipe because I ate the granola so quickly, it wasn’t sitting around to remind me. 🙂 Try it!

    1. I know, I have to be really careful around a big batch of granola. There are wore things to enjoy though, right?

Leave a Reply

