Summer Veggie Burgers

Summer Veggie Burgers Little Bitty Bakes

Veggie burgers.  Are you a fan?  I’m a big veggie burger fan with one major contingency: I like to see vegetables in my veggie burgers.   Sounds strange, but I feel like I’ve eaten so many mystery-veggie burgers in the past.  If it’s a veggie burger, I want real, fresh vegetables in there, you know?

Seeing as how we’re now officially into the summer season, I whipped up a batch of summer veggie burgers late last week.  What makes a veggie burger a summer veggie burger?  By loading them up with all of your favorite summer veggies, of course!

Summer Veggie Burgers

Zucchini, yellow squash, onion, corn, and carrots… gang’s all (in) there!

In addition to the surplus of veggies, I used white beans + corn meal to bring the burgers together.  A lot of veggie burger recipes call for an egg to bind, but between the vegetables, beans, and corn meal, these hold their own without the egg.

The veggies are all good, don’t get me wrong, but the real start ingredient in there?  Mustard!  I mixed Barhyte’s Saucy Mama dill mustard right into the veggie burger mix to give them an extra unique flavor.  I know this sounds silly and obvious but, if you are a fan of mustard and dill, you need to try this mustard.  I think it should be called summer mustard!  If there’s a single herb that reminds me of summer, it’s dill.  Actually, that’s a lie — I live for fresh basil in the summer.  But dill is a close second. 😉

Summer Veggie Burgers with Dill Mustard

Anyway… a couple weeks ago I shared a recipe for bacon wrapped dates as part of a mustard recipe contest with Barhyte Foods and, well, I made it to the next round!  I definitely feel like I’m on the food blog version of chopped. 😉

These veggie burgers are my entry to the second round of the mustard recipe competition.  This time around, we had to make a dinner recipe that also incorporated beans as a secret ingredient.  I figured there’s no better way to enjoy dinner in the summer than with a minimal prep burger of some sort… here’s to hoping my recipe is enticing enough to the judges! 😉

Summer Veggie Burgers w Dill Mustard

I kept my veggie burger toppings simple the first time around (as pictured in this post) with just spinach, tomatoes, and a little extra dill mustard on a whole wheat bun.  But, as with most burgers, the the topping options are endless!

[print_this]Summer Veggie Burgers with Dill Mustard

Veggie burgers loaded with zucchini, yellow squash, onion, corn, and carrots.  Dill mustard gives the burgers a uniquely “summer” flavor.

Makes 4 burgers

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 1 (15-ounced) can white beans or black eyed peas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup shredded summer squash (I used a combination of zucchini and yellow squash)
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrots
  • Corn kernels from 1 small ear of corn (cooked)
  • 2 tablespoons diced onion
  • 3 tablespoons corn meal
  • 2 tablespoons Saucy Mama dill mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/ teaspoon ground black pepper

Place the beans in the bowl of a food processor and pulse just until the beans are broken up (do not puree them completely).

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Use a fork (or clean hands) to mix until combined.  Chill the veggie burger mix in the refrigerator 30 minutes (this allows the mix to firm up a bit, so it is easier to shape them into patties).

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.  Form the chilled mixture into 4 patties, each about 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick.  Place the burgers on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake 35 to 40 minutes, flipping the burgers half way through baking.  If grilling the burgers, first bake them for 30 minutes (flipping half way), then finish them on the grill.*

*The bake/grill option can be done partly ahead of time.  Simply bake the veggie burgers 30 minutes, allow them to cool completely, then wrap each burger individually and freeze.  Remove the frozen veggie burgers as you need them, grilling them to reheat.

This is an original recipe from http://www.littlebittybakes.com. [/print_this]

6 thoughts on “Summer Veggie Burgers”

    1. The mustard is sooo good. I’ve been putting it on everything! As soon as run out I think I’m going to buy regular dijon mustard and stir in freeze-dried dill.

Leave a Reply

