Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes

Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes by lbbakes

Happy Monday and happy July!  Yikes, where is summer going?!  Let’s slow things down a little…

Pancakes = ultimate slow down breakfast food, no?  This recipe is a long time coming.  I looove eating pancakes for breakfast, but so many mornings I just don’t have the time to make them.  Well, I’m finally in summer vacation mode (the plus side of being a doctoral student, I suppose), which means I’ve had a little time to perfect a wholesome pancake recipe.

Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes w strawberries

I’ve tried to make whole wheat pancakes in the past, but they always seemed to end up dense instead of the fluffy pancakes you get with regular all-purpose flour.  Luckily, the athlete in me loves a challenge, and I was bound and determined to make a fluffy whole wheat pancake. 🙂

Honey whole wheat pancakes_lbbakes

Success!  By using white whole wheat flour (I recommend King Arthur) instead of regular, and adding extra baking powder, these little hotcakes puffed up quite nicely.

And the taste… sooo good.  The honey in the batter goes a long way to sweeten the pancakes just perfectly.  I use local (FL or GA) tupelo honey which I personally believe is the best honey in the world, but I suppose any honey will do. 😉

I topped these pancakes with a drizzle of honey and fresh strawberries, since berries are so fresh lately.  But the topping options are endless.  With the 4th coming up this week, a combination of blueberries + strawberries (and a little greek yogurt!) would make the perfect patriotic breakfast.

Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes

[print_this]Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes

Serves 2 to 4 (depending on appetite 🙂 )

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 5 minutes

  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Dash of ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk (any kind)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons oil (I use coconut oil, but canola would be fine)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Heat a griddle or large skillet over medium-high heat.  Spray with nonstick cooking spray.

Meanwhile, stir the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a small mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, stir the remaining ingredients until mixed well.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients; mix until just blended (do not over mix; a few lumps may remain, that is fine).

Pour the batter by 3 tablespoon amounts onto the heated griddle (for larger pancakes, use 1/4 to 1/3 cup per pancake).  Cook until the pancakes have bubbles and dry edges, then flip with a spatula and cook an additional 1 to 2 minutes.  Serve the pancakes warm with desired toppings.  Extra pancakes may be frozen and reheated on a griddle or frying pan.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Honey Whole Wheat Pancakes”

    1. Cooking with honey? Hmm, that is intriguing! I’ve only baked with it, but can imagine it’d be awesome in some savory dishes.

      1. Melt some honey with butter in an ovenproof pan- then sear all sides of a pork tenderloin (also works for pork chops). Then bake in honey-butter drippings until desired temp. AMAZING!

      2. That sounds delicious! I don’t make pork a lot, but would be willing to do so if honey were involved!

  1. Again…you read my mind. 😉
    Craig always says he wishes the pancakes I make were fluffier- and you are right about using whole wheat flour- they do always end up dense. Pinning this & trying this weekend!!

    1. It was always so so hard for me to get fluffy pancakes with WW flour, but as soon as I upped the baking powder I noticed a big difference. Let me know if you try them!

  2. I usually make whole wheat banana pancakes- but without any bananas, and a sick child who is crying for pancakes- I came across your recipe. I’m trying it this morning, and very excited. It looks perfect for deliciousness AND clean eating. I’ll definitely be checking out more of your blog!

Leave a Reply

