Almond Butter Granola with Toasted Coconut

DSC_0629

I think I’m addicted to granola.  I’ve reached the point where I’ve always got at least one type of homemade granola on hand, but it’s typically more like two or three.  I’m pretty sure it’s reflective of my (obvious) greek yogurt addiction.  Yogurt + granola just go hand in hand, in my opinion.

DSC_0625

One of my favorite things about making my own granola is being able to control what goes into the granola.  It seems like so many products we purchase at the store can contain extra, random ingredients.  By taking matters into my own hands, I’m able to use only the good stuff, you know?

DSC_0631

The granola recipe I’m sharing today is one of my favorite granolas yet.  I really believe it tastes like a healthier, less sugary version of honey nut cheerios.  And who doesn’t love honey nut cheerios?

It’s packed with healthy, nutritious ingredients like homemade almond butter, coconut oil, and oats.  I love using a combination of nut butter + oil in granola for the subtle nuttiness it yields, and this particular pairing of almond butter + coconut oil is no exception.

DSC_0634

The toasted coconut is the finishing touch to the granola and one that I, as a lover of all things coconut, think puts the granola over the top.  I used coconut chips (from Trader Joe’s) in my recipe, but if you can’t find those you could also use unsweetened shredded coconut.

DSC_0623

[print_this]Almond Butter Granola with Toasted Coconut

Subtly nutty and sweet granola flavored with almond butter, coconut oil, and honey.  Coconut chips add extra crunch to the granola.

Makes about 2 1/2 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups oats (old-fashioned)
  • 1/4 cup coconut chips or flakes

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the almond butter, coconut oil, and honey.  Microwave on high about 30 seconds, until the almond butter is melted slightly.  Stir to combine.  Add the vanilla and oats; stir until mixed well.

Spread the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet.  Bake 10 minutes; remove from the oven and stir in the coconut while tossing the granola to prevent burning.  Bake an additional 10 minutes.  Allow the granola to cool completely before eating or storing.[/print_this]

4 thoughts on “Almond Butter Granola with Toasted Coconut”

Leave a Reply

