Blueberry Apricot Granola

DSC_0661

Hello from southeastern Pennsylvania!  I flew from Florida to New York almost two weeks ago, and it’s pretty much been nonstop travel throughout the northeast visiting people ever since.  I’m definitely doing my fair share of summer travel. 🙂

I had a break in travel yesterday, and since I seem to require homemade granola on a continual basis, I whipped up this batch of granola yesterday afternoon when I realized my supply was depleted.

DSC_0651

I’ve really been digging blueberries lately, so I decided to incorporate them into this batch.  I had a feeling fresh blueberries in the granola might get a bit messy (although I’m still tempted to try it — we’ll see…), so I used dried blueberries instead.  While I was at it, I added dried apricots as well — really embracing the summer fruits, I suppose. 🙂

DSC_0653

Because of all the fruit in the recipe, the granola really doesn’t need much in the way of sweetening.  I added a couple tablespoons of honey, but if you like your granola nice and sweet you might want to add another tablespoon or so.

This granola would be perfect over a cup of yogurt, or in a bowl on its own with milk and a handful of fresh berries tossed in.  It’s definitely a summer granola!

DSC_0659

[print_this]Blueberry Apricot Granola

Crunchy granola with dried fruit added for texture and natural sweetness.  Substitute your favorite dried fruit for the blueberries and apricots, if desired.

Makes about 3 1/2 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 2 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut or canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet or pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a mixing bowl, combine the oats, blueberries, apricots, and salt.  Stir to combine.

In a small microwave-safe bowl, combine the peanut butter, oil, honey, and vanilla. Microwave on high about 30 seconds or until the peanut butter begins to melt.  Stir until smooth.

Pour the peanut butter mixture over the oats; stir until combined.  Spread into the prepared pan.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes, stirring every 10 to 15 minutes, until the granola is lightly toasted.  Allow the granola to cool completely.  Granola can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature. [/print_this]

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Apricot Granola”

  1. I always thought making granola would be overly time consuming or difficult, but this inspired me to make it tonight. I’m using better ‘n peanut butter and added in hemp seeds and almond slices. Thanks for the inspiration and recipe.

Leave a Reply

