Salted Caramel Pretzel Granola

salted caramel pretzel granola lbbakes

Oh, it’s been a couple weeks since I last shared a granola recipe.  Which in my granola-crazed world means I’m overdue to share another. 😉

I’ve expressed my love of sweet and salty snacks/desserts before, but here I am, about to do it again — it’s just that good!  My latest craze: salted caramel.  Have you jumped on the salted caramel train yet?  If you haven’t, you really should.

salt caramel pretzel granola

Most recently, I’ve been hooked on Edy’s limited edition salted caramel pretzel ice cream (go get it now before it’s too late!).  I’ve never been the biggest caramel fan, but if you throw salt into the picture, I’m there… Which is what led me to bake this batch of salted caramel pretzel granola a couple weeks ago.

salted caramel pretzel granola little bitty bakes

Clusters of toasted oats and crunchy pretzels, lightly sweetened with caramel sauce and dusted with coarse sea salt… need I say more?

salted caramel pretzel granola

I think I just need to say this: make this granola. It’s perfect on top of greek yogurt, in a bowl with a bit of milk, or my personal favorite, as a snack on its own.

[print_this]Salted Caramel Pretzel Granola

If you enjoy sweet and salty food combinations, you will love this granola: crunchy clusters of oats and pretzels with sweet caramel sauce, lightly sprinkled with sea salt.  For added crunch and flavor, add 1/4 cup chopped peanuts.

Makes about 3 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Bake time: 30 minutes

  • 2 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats
  • 3/4 cup crushed pretzels
  • 3 tablespoons canola or coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons caramel sauce (+ extra for drizzling)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse sea salt

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line a baking pan or sheet with parchment paper.

In a mixing bowl, stir all of the ingredients until mixed.  Spread into the prepared pan.  Bake 15 minutes, then remove from the oven and stir; if desired, drizzle an additional 1/2 to 1 tablespoon caramel sauce over the granola.  Bake an additional 10 to 15 minutes, or until the granola is lightly toasted.  Allow the granola to cool completely before serving or storing.[/print_this]

10 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Pretzel Granola”

  1. Ummm have I told you HOW addicted to that ice cream that I am?? Totally have my freezer STOCKED with it. No lie. My poor husband is like ‘Holly I am trying not to eat sweets…you’re killing me!’ haha.
    Can’t wait to try out this recipe!

    1. I think it’s one of my favorite Edy’s flavors ever. I need to stock up before summer is over! Hopefully it goes on sale at Publix soon…

  2. It’s baking right now…and I’m drooling already. I went with the coconut oil, pretzel slims and TJ’s caramel sauce. Thanks for this amazing idea.

  3. It’s delicious though I ended up making a second batch because my first was too salty. My second batch, I didn’t add salt…so I mixed the two together, and it was perfect.

    1. I like the idea of pretzel slims – those are so good! And you can’t go wrong with anything from TJ’s. Thanks for the comment!

  4. I didn’t use as much salt and put in 1/2 teaspoon. They still turned out pretty salty, so next time I will ommit the salt. Also, I will use more caramel next batch. Over all, I am satisfied with the results

Leave a Reply

