Candy Corn M&M Pumpkin Cookie Bars

Happy Halloween!

I have to admit, Monday is a whole lot better when you get to wear orange and black to work and eat candy all day!  No crazy Halloween shenanigans for this girl – I’m running a marathon in six days!  Let’s be honest, marathon or no marathon, there’d probably be no crazy Halloween shenanigans for me.  😉 

All October, I kept seeing candy corn M&M’s pop up over some of my favorite blogs.  I tried relentlessly to pin them down, but couldn’t find them anywhere.  Finally, I found them a couple days ago at WalMart Supercenter.  Luckily, I had read that they don’t taste like candy corn, otherwise my candy corn obsessed self would’ve been deeply disappointed.  They’re great – white chocolate flavored with a crisp shell – but taste nothing like candy corn.

I actually didn’t plan to bake with the M&Ms, but one thing led to another and well… I suddenly found myself whipping up a batch of pumpkin cookie bars… and then throwing M&M’s in!  I didn’t even plan to share the recipe here on the blog but since it is Halloween and all, I think I’ve got to.

For the cookie base, I used a pouch of Betty Crocker pumpkin cookie mix like I did for pumpkin oatmeal cookies.  I can’t get over how super soft the cookies are!  And the addition of the M&M’s was perfect — I’m starting to believe any chocolate – white, milk, dark – pairs well with pumpkin.  If you can get your hands on these M&M’s, make these cookie bars!

Have a great Halloween – make sure you set aside the good candy for yourself the trick-or-treaters! 😉

Candy Corn M&M Pumpkin Cookie Bars

Super-soft and subtly spiced pumpkin cookie bars with white chocolate M&M’s.  If you can’t find white chocolate M&M’s, substitute white chocolate chips or a different flavored M&M.

Makes 16 bars

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • Betty Crocker pumpkin cookie mix
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup Candy Corn M&M’s

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray, then line with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the cookie mix, butter, egg, and water with an electric mixer on medium speed until mixed well.  Stir in the M&M’s.  Spread into the prepared pan and bake 30 minutes or until edges are golden brown and inserted toothpick comes out nearly clean.  Cool completely before cutting into bars.

13 thoughts on “Candy Corn M&M Pumpkin Cookie Bars”

  1. Liz! These look great! You know, I saw that cookie mix a few days ago and wondered what it was like. Now I’m sorry I didn’t pick it up! Maybe I’ll have to make a run to the store today!

    Good luck with the marathon!!! You’re inspiring me to AT LEAST get out and walk my 4 miles today. 😉

    PS…love your blog’s new look!

    1. I like to think every mile deserves 1 cookie. So you walked 4, you get to eat 4 cookies 😉

      Thank you for the good luck! And yes, go back to the store and buy the pumpkin cookie mix!

  2. GIRL….once again you made the most delicious looking thing in the world. HOLY COW, candy corns in a baked good..sign me up. 6 days until NEW YORK! I can’t wait to meet you!! Can I email you my phone number so it will be easier to meet up?

  3. Good luck on your marathon!
    I love pumpkin cookies but haven’t seen these candy corn M&M around. Hmm, have to pay more attention, these look great!

    1. Thank you for the well wishes! The m&m’s were really hard to find! I’m hoping they’ll have them for another holiday soon!

  4. I read the last one on my phone and was going to comment that you outdid yourself again…then you go and post this. I. Am. Dying! Which is good because I’m quite certain they have these in a calorie free version in heaven. 😉

    1. These are worth trying if you can find the pumpkin mix – they are so so good, you’d love them! And yes, calories mean nothing in heaven 🙂

  5. MMMMM these look great! I was a little nervous at first because i actually hate candy corn (I know I’m in the minority here), but white chocolate m&ms in pumpkin bars sound great. The colors definitely have me thinking they are bloated reese’s pieces though, which also would probably be great in pumpkin bars 🙂

Leave a comment