Butterfinger Cake

I think I’ve fallen victim to new year’s resolution syndrome (aka, failing by February). I had such good intentions with this blog, and I still do – I just got a little preoccupied! In mid/late January, I was scrambling to get some recipes entered in Betty Crocker’s Mix It Up With Betty contest. Since I couldn’t post these recipes (because of course, *all* you readers out there would have stolen them 😉 thereby ruining the uniqueness of my entries!), that left me with little to share. But I’m going to recommit myself to this thing, starting now!
I made this cake for my mom’s birthday about a month ago. There are a lot of variations of the recipe circulating the web, but I put a little twist of my own on it. I have a difficult time making a recipe as is, it just doesn’t feel as creative. At the end of the day, though, you really can’t go wrong with boxed cake, butterfingers, and a whipped cream frosting!

Recipe:
1 box chocolate cake mix
oil, eggs, water as directed on cake box mix
20 miniature Butterfinger candy bars, crushed

1/3 cup butterscotch chips

1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

1 cup caramel syrup

1 (8 oz) container cool whip

1 (12 oz) container whipped frosting

Heat oven to 350°F. Mix cake ingredients (cake mix, oil, eggs, water). Stir in butterscotch chips and 1/4 of the crushed Butterfingers. Bake cake as directed on box for 13×9-inch pan.

Poke top of warm cake with every half inch with the handle of a wooden spoon. Pour condensed milk over cake until absorbed. Pour caramel syrup over cake. Top with 2/3 of remaining crushed Butterfingers, pressing into cake. Cover and refrigerate cake about 1 hour.

Stir cool whip and whipped frosting in medium mixing bowl until combined. Spread over cake. Top with remaining crushed Butterfingers. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour. Store remaining cake in refrigerator after serving.

Tips!
* A lot of recipes call for caramel topping. I only had caramel syrup in my kitchen when I made the cake, and I think I actually prefer it.

* This makes
a lot of frosting. Don’t feel the need to use it all! It is great on it’s own as a leftover treat.

Leave a comment