Jambalaya Chili

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared a dinner recipe here, so… I’m going to do that today. 🙂

I’m not sure why, but I’ve become obsessed with chili in the past six months or so.  I always crave warm soups whenever cold fall-like weather rolls around in September/October.  Since this year’s winter is basically a colder extension of fall, I guess I haven’t had the chance to transition out of my fall food cravings.  Rather than eat the same old chili over and over though, I’ve been getting creative with it!

I actually entered this recipe in a Johnsonville chili contest a few weeks ago but I never heard back. 😦  I’ve decided entering recipe contests is sort of like buying lottery tickets.  Although, you don’t get to eat lottery tickets, so in my mind, recipe contests > lottery tickets.  😉

Don’t ask me how, but somehow I got the idea to make a jambalaya chili.  I’ve never even eaten regular jambalaya!  Maybe it’s because Mardis Gras starts on Tuesday?  Right, that *must* be it…

I had to eat this chili without the shrimp (I’m allergic to shrimp and/or sea scallops so I avoid both), but it was so tasty even sans-shrimp.   Fairly spicy and a nice smoky flavor from the spices and turkey bacon.  If you can find it, go ahead and use andouille sausage, which is traditionally used in jambalaya.  And feel free to adjust the spices to your liking!

[print_this]Jambalaya Chili

Inspired by the famous southern dish, this smoky and spicy chili is loaded with both meats and veggies.  To make it more Jambalaya-like, serve over rice.  

Serves 6

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 1 hour, 15 minutes

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1/2 pound ground turkey sausage (or andouille sausage)
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced
  • 3 celery stalks, diced
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon cajun seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans undrained
  • 1 cup shredded cooked chicken
  • 1/4 cup chopped cooked turkey bacon
  • 1/2 lb shrimp, deveined and cooked

Heat the oil in a dutch oven over medium heat.  Cook the sausage, using a wooden spoon to break it up as it cooks, 5 to 7 minutes or until cooked through.  Place the cooked sausage on a plate and set aside.

Add the bell pepper, celery, and onion to the pan; cook over medium heat until the pepper and celery are tender.  Add the remaining ingredients and the sausage.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, then simmer at least 1 hour before serving.

Nutrition Info (per serving, 6 servings total): 280 calories, 7g fat (2g saturated fat, 0g trans fat), 755mg sodium, 26g carbohydrates (9g fiber, 3g sugar), 30g protein[/print_this]

12 thoughts on “Jambalaya Chili”

  1. Liz, again you have made Craig’s day…he LOVES Jambalaya! I mean it’s the kind of meal he would eat everyday if he could. I like it a lot too, but he takes his liking to a whole new level 🙂 I will definitely be making this soon. He will be on a work trip soon, so this will be a nice welcome home dinner 🙂

    1. After researching jambalaya and gumbo (which sadly, I did quite a bit of before making this chili) I realized there’s a very gray, fuzzy line between gumbo, this chili, and jambalaya. Anywho, all are flavorful and tasty, I’m sure!

Leave a comment